Willowmoore Park witnessed an enthralling contest between South Africa Women and Bangladesh Women in the inaugural match of the tour. In a gripping T20I encounter, Bangladesh emerged victorious by 13 runs, showcasing their prowess in both batting and bowling.

Toss and Team Lineups:

Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat first. South Africa’s Playing XI included notable names like Meike De Ridder, Tazmin Brits and Sune Luus, while Bangladesh fielded a strong lineup with Nigar Sultana, Shamima Sultana and Murshida Khatun.

Bangladesh’s Innings:

Bangladesh set a challenging target of 150, posting 149/2 in their 20 overs. Murshida Khatun played a crucial knock, scoring 62 runs off 59 deliveries, well-supported by Shamima Sultana (24) and Nigar Sultana (34).

South Africa’s Innings:

In pursuit of the target, South Africa put up a spirited fight, led by Anneke Bosch‘s impressive 67 off 49 balls. However, the Bangladeshi bowlers, especially Shorna Akter, turned the tide in their favour. Akter’s exceptional spell of 5 wickets for 28 runs played a pivotal role in restricting South Africa to 136/8 in 20 overs.

Also READ: NZ-W vs PAK-W – Fatima Sana’s career-best bowling figures guides Pakistan to comprehensive win over New Zealand


Bangladesh secured a hard-fought victory, winning by 13 runs and taking a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

Player of the Match:

Shorna Akter was named the Player of the Match for her outstanding bowling performance.

Next Match:

The action continues on Wednesday, December 6, with the teams set to clash again at Diamond Oval. Cricket fans can anticipate another thrilling encounter as both teams look to make their mark in the series.

Also READ: Cricket fraternity and fans extend lovely birthday wishes to Mithali Raj

This article was first published at WomenCricket.com, a Cricket Times company.

#BANW #Shorna #Akters #fifer #powers #Bangladesh #thrilling #win #South #Africa


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *