India’s star wicketkeeper-batter Sanju Samson will be back in action as he was named the captain of the India A side for the upcoming three-match One-Day series against New Zealand A. The 50-over leg starts on September 22, with all three matches scheduled to be played in Chennai.

Notably, Samson had been an integral part of India’s limited-overs squads following the consistent shows in IPL but didn’t find a place in the side for the Asia Cup 2022. Additionally, after the comeback of Dinesh Karthik and with Rishabh Pant‘s already-cemented spot in the wicketkeeping role, Samson failed to break into the 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2022.

The star-studded squad also includes explosive opener Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tripathi and Rajat Patidar, all of whom have been impressive in this year’s Indian Premier League (IPL).

Alongside Samson, KS Bharat has been called up as another wicketkeeper in the outfit. Further, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Abhimanyu Easwaran have also been selected for the ODI series, while youngster Tilak Varma, who grabbed eyeballs with top-class performance for the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the IPL 2022 season, has been picked as well.

In terms of the bowling unit, speed sensation Umran Malik has found a place in the A squad alongside fellow pacers Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini and Raj Angad Bawa.

Amongst spinners, Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Chahar, and Shahbaz Ahmed have been named in the squad.

India A full squad:

Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Sanju Samson (Captain), KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Navdeep Saini, Raj Angad Bawa

#Sanju #Samson #captain #India #ODI #series #Zealand


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *