Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced their men’s Test squad for the upcoming home Test series against New Zealand. Former Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed, who didn’t play a single game in the recently-concluded WTC Tests versus England, has retained his place in the 16-member squad.

Uncapped batter Kamran Ghulam, who didn’t get a chance to make his Test debut, has replaced veteran Azhar Ali.

Azhar retired from Test cricket after playing his last match against England in Karachi earlier this week.

The national selectors have, however, released fast bowler Muhammad Ali and all-rounder Faheem Ashraf from the Pakistan squad following their 3-0 whitewash against England on Monday (December 20).

Pacer Naseem Shah has been declared fit and is all set to feature in the New Zealand Tests. He was ruled out of the Multan and Karachi Tests against England due to a shoulder niggle.

All-rounder Hasan Ali has also been recalled for the two-Test series against Tim Southee and his men.

Meanwhile, the Black Caps will land in Pakistan on Thursday morning. They are the third major side to tour Pakistan for a Test leg this year after Australia and England.

Pakistan’s Test squad for New Zealand series:

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Shan Masood, Zahid Mehmood.

Schedule for PAK vs NZ Test series

  • First Test: Karachi, December 26-30, 2022
  • Second Test: Multan, January 3-7, 2023

#Sarfaraz #Ahmed #retains #place #Pakistan #announces #squad #Zealand #Tests


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *