Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC), on Thursday, announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, scheduled to begin in Australia from October 16.

Regular skipper Craig Ervine has returned to the outfit along with Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza and Milton Shumba, who all have recovered from their respective injuries.

Ervine is back from a hamstring niggle to lead the side, while Chatara returns from a collarbone fracture. Similarly, Masakadza and Shumba have made a comeback from shoulder tendon and quadricep injuries, respectively.

Further, Blessing Muzarabani has also returned to spearhead Zimbabwe’s bowling attack. Notably, Muzarabani did travel with the team to Australia but didn’t play a single game.

Meanwhile, the likes of Tadiwanashe Marumani, Innocent Kaia, Kevin Kasuza, Victor Nyauchi and Tanaka Chivanga have been named as reserves.

Zimbabwe are part of Group B in the First round, and they will start their ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 campaign with a match against Ireland on October 17 at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Tasmania.

Zimbabwe’s T20 World Cup squad:

Craig Ervine (c), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Sean Williams

Reserves: Tanaka Chivanga, Innocent Kaia, Kevin Kasuza, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Victor Nyauchi

#Skipper #Craig #Ervine #returns #Zimbabwe #unveil #squad #T20 #World #Cup


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *