In a highly anticipated announcement, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has revealed the Women’s squads for the upcoming tour of India, featuring both Test and T20I series. The tour is scheduled to commence on December 6 with the T20I series, followed by a one-off Test match starting on December 14.

Sophie Ecclestone makes a comeback

A major highlight of the squad announcement is the return of England’s star spinner, Sophie Ecclestone, who has successfully recovered from a shoulder injury sustained during the Women’s Hundred last August. Ecclestone, known for her exceptional spin bowling, is set to play a crucial role in both the T20I and Test matches. Her inclusion brings a significant boost to England’s bowling department.

New faces and young talents in the mix

The squads also feature some fresh faces, emphasizing the team’s commitment to nurturing young talent. Wicketkeeper-batter Bess Heath, having earned her ODI cap against Sri Lanka in September, has been selected for both the T20I and Test squads. Additionally, the promising allrounder Alice Capsey is poised to make her Test debut, adding depth to the team’s versatility.

Also READ: BAN-W vs PAK-W – Fargana Hoque steer Bangladesh to a series clinching win over Pakistan

“We have a nice blend of youth and experience. It’s an exciting squad and a group that is ready to take on the challenge of what will be a really tough series in India. We haven’t toured India for a number of years. We have players who have experienced playing in the Women’s Premier League but many haven’t played international cricket there before. Playing in Indian conditions is great preparation for our next two World Cups in the subcontinent and will be an amazing learning opportunity for both the players and the staff,” said England head coach Jon Lewis in a statement.

England Women squads for the India tour:

T20I squad: Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Mahika Gaur , Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Bess Heath, Amy Jones, Freya Kemp, Heather Knight, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Danielle Wyatt

Test squad: Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Lauren Filer, Bess Heath, Amy Jones, Heather Knight (c), Emma Lamb, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Danielle Wyatt

Also READ: WBBL 2023 – Sydney Thunders surprises Melbourne Stars; Sydney Sixers crushes Hobart Hurricanes

This article was first published at, a Cricket Times company.

#Sophie #Ecclestone #returns #England #announces #Womens #squad #multiformat #tour #India


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *