Cricket South Africa (CSA), in a significant move, declared the appointment of a new captain to lead the South African women’s cricket team across all formats. The decision was unveiled on Friday, coinciding with the announcement of the T20I squad set to face Bangladesh in the upcoming series starting in December.

Senior star assumes full-time captaincy

Senior cricket star Laura Wolvaardt has been named the official captain for all formats after a successful stint as interim captain during the recent home series against Pakistan and New Zealand, both of which the Proteas won 2-1.

Wolvaardt, with 86 ODIs and 59 T20Is under her belt, brings a wealth of experience to the leadership role. The talented batter has accumulated 3421 runs in ODIs with 30 fifties and four hundreds, while in T20Is, she boasts 1313 runs with an average of 32.82 and nine half-centuries.

Wolvaardt, who made her Test debut during South Africa’s return to red-ball cricket last year against England, will now lead the team in all three formats.

Also READ: Jess Jonassen shines as Brisbane Heat beat Sydney Thunder to secure final berth in WBBL 2023

Notable absentees in T20I outfit

However, Wolvaardt’s first series in charge as the full-time captain will see the absence of some key players. Among the centrally contracted players unavailable for the T20I series against Bangladesh are fast bowler Ayabonga Khaka (knee injury) and all-rounders Chloe Tyron (groin) and Nadine de Klerk (side strain), who will miss out due to their respective injuries.

Veteran allrounder Marizanne Kapp will be rested for the T20Is but is expected to return for the crucial ODI series, which is part of the Women’s ODI Championship 2022-25. The squad for the ODI leg, commencing in East London on December 16, will be announced in due course.

“Having Laura Wolvaardt as the official captain, together with a blend of young and experienced players, bodes well for our succession planning,” stated the Convenor of Selectors, Clinton du Preez, in an official statement.

South Africa’s T20I squad for Bangladesh series

Laura Wolvaardt (captain), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Annerie Dercksen, Mieke de Ridder, Lara Goodall, Ayanda Hlubi, Sinalo Jafta, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumiso Shangase, Delmi Tucker

Also READ: WBBL 2023 – Lizelle Lee’s unbeaten ton guides Hobart Hurricanes to an emphatic win over Melbourne Renegades

This article was first published at, a Cricket Times company.

#South #Africa #announces #allformat #Women #captain #T20I #squad #Bangladesh #series


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *