Sri Lanka Cricket, on Wednesday, announced an 18-man squad for their upcoming two-match Test series against Bangladesh.

Right-handed batter Oshada Fernando, who was not named in the squad for India tour, has been recalled after his impressive show in domestic cricket recently. Playing for Kandy, Fernando notched 721 runs from six matches at an average of 80.11 with four centuries and three half-centuries.

Pathum Nissanka, who didn’t feature in the second Test against India due to back injury, failed to recover in time. SLC has also named uncapped Dilshan Madushanka and Kamil Mishara for the Bangladesh tour.

Kamindu Mendis, in the meantime, replaced Roshen Silva, who was “included in the original squad but indicated his inability to tour” according to a release from the Sri Lankan board.

Sri Lanka are currently placed at the fifth position in the ICC World Test Championship points table, having won two Tests and drawn another two during the 2021-23 period. Bangladesh, on the other hand, have won just one Test in that same period and are at the eighth position, only ahead of England.

Sri Lanka squad for Bangladesh tour

Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Suminda Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya.


#Sri #Lanka #announces #18man #squad #twoTest #tour #Bangladesh


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *