Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), on Thursday, announced their 18-member squad for the upcoming home Test series against Pakistan, which is starting from July 16 in Galle. The Islanders have left out Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lakshitha Manasinghe and Chamika Karunaratne from the outfit that was named against Australia.

Prabath Jayasuriya, who recently picked up a record 12 wickets on his Test debut against Australia, has been included in the squad along with uncapped Dunith Wellalage. Notably, Wellalage has not yet played a Test, but he was impressive in the ODI series against the Aussies, finishing as the top wicket-taker.

The first Test will be played from July 16 in Galle, while the second Test will start from July 24 in Colombo. Ahead of the two-match series, Pakistan will play a warm-up match with the Sri Lanka Cricket XI at the Colts Cricket Club Ground in Colombo. The Test battle will be part of the World Test Championship (WTC), where Sri Lanka are placed third, and Pakistan are right behind them at fourth.

Sri Lanka squad for Pakistan Tests:

Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Pathum Nissanka, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Prabath Jayasuriya, Dunith Wellalage, Jeffrey Vandersay.

#Sri #Lanka #announces #Test #squad #home #series #Pakistan


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *