Team India have been penalised for maintaining a slow over-rate in the recently-concluded first ODI of the three-match series against Bangladesh.

The Rohit Sharma-led side was found guilty of four overs short of their target after reasonable adjustments and time allowances had been taken into consideration by the on-field umpires on-field umpires Michael Gough and Tanvir Ahmed, third umpire Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid and fourth umpire Gazi Sohel.

The tourists were fined 80 per cent of their match, and captain Rohit pleaded guilty to the offence, with match referee Ranjan Madugalle of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees imposing the sanction without needing a formal hearing.

“Match referee Ranjan Madugalle imposed the sanction after India were ruled to be four overs short of the target,” said ICC in a media statement.

“In accordance with Article 2.22 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to minimum over-rate offences, players are fined 20 per cent of their match fee for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time,” the statement further read.

Notably, the Men in Blue lost the contest by one wicket after Mehidy Hasan played a match-winning unbeaten 38*, helping Bangladesh register a historic win over India at Dhaka’s Sher-e-Bangla Stadium. The second ODI will also be played at the same venue on Wednesday.

“It was a very close game. We did very well to come back into the game. We did not bat well. We bowled pretty well and kept them under pressure till the end. They held their nerves in the backend. If you look back at how we bowled, of course the last few overs, we would have liked to get a wicket. We kept taking wickets all through. It wasn’t enough runs. Another 30-40 runs would have made a difference,” Rohit had said after the game.


#Team #India #penalised #hefty #fine #slow #overrate #ODI #Bangladesh


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *