The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 18-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against West Indies, starting July 29 at Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad.

Senior members Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal all are not part of the T20I outfit as the trio has been given rest by the apex Indian board. Further, the Rohit Sharma-led squad will also see the possibility of KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav returning to the side but subject to fitness clearance. Notably, both Rahul and Kuldeep had been sidelined by injuries recently and have been on the recovery phase.

The squad also sees the comeback of veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, as India seem to be trying out all possibilities ahead of the T20 World Cup later this year in Australia. Notably, after a big gap from the white ball setup, Ashwin had returned to the T20I World Cup last year but has not been a regular fixture in the side since.

India are set to play three ODIs and five T20Is on the Caribbean tour. BCCI had already announced the ODI squad to be led by Shikhar Dhawan.

India’s squad for T20Is against West Indies:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

#Virat #Kohli #Jasprit #Bumrah #rested #BCCI #names #India #squad #West #Indies #T20Is


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *