Brisbane Heat emerged victorious against Sydney Thunder in the Eliminator of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) 2023. The toss saw Sydney Thunder opting to bowl first at Perth’s W.A.C.A. Ground, setting the stage for an engaging contest.

Brisbane Heat Innings

The Brisbane Heat Women put up a competitive total of 169/8 in their allotted 20 overs. Grace Harris (45) and Georgia Redmayne (18) provided a solid start, laying the foundation for the innings. Another notable contribution came from Amelia Kerr (48 off 32).

Hannah Darlington was the pick of the bowlers for Sydney Thunder, taking three wickets, while
Sammy-Jo Johnson and Lauren Smith claimed two wickets each.

Sydney Thunder Innings

In reply, Sydney Thunder faced a challenging run chase. Opening batter Chamari Athapaththu (41) showed resilience, but Courtney Sippel and Nicola Hancock‘s exceptional bowling performance turned the tide in favour of Brisbane Heat Women. Sippel took an impressive three-wicket haul for just 9 runs in her four overs, while Hancock bagged two scalps. Despite efforts from Athapaththu, Heather Knight (25) and Anika Learoyd (21), Sydney Thunder fell short of the target, finishing at 125/9 in 20 overs.

Also READ: Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry amongst others named in the WBBL|09 Team of the Tournament


Brisbane Heat Women won the match by 44 runs.

Player of the Match

Amelia Kerr’s all-round brilliance earned her the Player of the Match award. Not only did she contribute with the bat, scoring a vital 48 runs, but also picked the crucial wicket of Phoebe Litchfield.

Also READ: ICC Women’s Rankings

With this win, Brisbane Heat have qualified for the Challenger match of WBBL|09, where they will take on the Perth Scorchers at the same venue on Wednesday (November 29).

This article was first published at, a Cricket Times company.

#WBBL #Amelia #Kerr #powers #Brisbane #Heat #Challenger


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *