In the 40th match of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) 2023, Adelaide Strikers clashed with Sydney Thunder at the Karen Rolton Oval. The toss favored Adelaide Strikers, who elected to bowl first.

Sydney Thunder Innings

The Sydney Thunder faced a challenging bowling attack from Adelaide Strikers. Chamari Athapaththu played a significant knock of 43 runs, while Marizanne Kapp added 27 runs.

Anesu Mushangwe and Megan Schutt from Adelaide Strikers’ bowling lineup secured crucial wickets, limiting Sydney Thunder Women to 118/6.

Adelaide Strikers Innings

In response, Adelaide Strikers displayed a solid batting performance. Katie Mack contributed 26 runs, while Laura Wolvaardt played a pivotal role with an impressive 47 runs. Bridget Patterson added 36 runs, guiding the team to victory. The bowlers from Sydney Thunder, especially Lauren Smith, tried to defend the total by taking three wickets, but Adelaide Strikers achieved the target with 13 balls to spare.

Also READ: WBBL 2023 – Georgia Redmayne, Jess Jonassen shine in Brisbane Heat’s thumping win over Hobart Hurricanes


Adelaide Strikers won the match by 6 wickets.

Player of the Match

Laura Wolvaardt’s impactful batting performance earned her the Player of the Match award.

Also READ: Australia announces their women’s squad for the multi-format tour of India

This article was first published at, a Cricket Times company.

#WBBL #Laura #Wolvaardt #guides #Adelaide #Strikers #comprehensive #win #Sydney #Thunder


Stay updated with the latest events and happenings in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *